Josh Salah Adds NEC Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award

Josh Salah Adds NEC Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award

Full Northeast Conference Release

FAIRFIELD, CT (June 13, 2012) - The Northeast Conference announced their 2012 Spring Scholar-Athletes award winner and their Academic Honor Roll and Comissioner's Honor Roll on Wednesday with Sacred Heart junior Joshua Salah (Gloucester, MA) being named the Men's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Salah adds the Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor to his resume after being named the 2011-12 NEC Men's Golfer of the Year this past season.  Salah posted five top-10 finishes, including the individual title at the Rhody Invitational in April.  He earned his third All-Conference selection and second first team nod.  Salah kicked off the year by earning NEC Golfer of the Month honors in September after posting second place finishes at the CCSU Fall Invitational and Hartford Hawk Invitational.  This past spring, he placed fourth at the Lonnie Barton Invitational and ninth at the New England Championships.  In addition, his 25th place showing at the NEC Championships helped lead the Pioneers to a runner-up finish in the event.  Salah is a Business Economics major and maintains a 3.81 grade point average.

Along with the scholar-athletes, the NEC also announced its spring Academic Honor Roll, consisting of 882 student-athletes.  There were also 206 student-athletes named to the Commissioner's Honor Roll with a 3.75 or better grade point average.  All scholar-athlete award winners must have earned a minimum of 60 semester hours, maintained a minimum cumulative grade-point-average of 3.20 and participated with distinction as a member of a varsity team.

Sacred Heart place 120 student-athletes on the 2012 spring Academic Honor Roll.  The following student-Athletes were named to the spring Commissioner's Honor Roll as well: Hayle Boyle (Track), Julianne Cappadona (Track), Michelle Navarro (Track), Megan Papp (Track), Alyssa Selmquist (Track), Sarah Wallis (Track), Ashia Wright (Track), Matthew Lyhne (Track), Delaney Dowing (Tennis), Gabi Kaldan (Tennis), Elizabeth Debenedicts (Softball), Alyssa Dorsey (Lacrosse), Aurelie Pluijmakers (Lacrosse), Jennifer Clinton (Golf), Joshua Salah (Golf), James Cooksey (Baseball), Jeffrey Stoddard (Baseball), Daniel Wertz (Baseball).

During the 2011-12 season, Sacred Heart University placed a total of 300 student-athletes on the NEC Academic Honor Roll and a total of 48 student-athletes on the NEC Commissioner's Honor Roll.

As a league over the course of the 2011-12 academic year, a total of 2,264 student-athletes landed a spot on the Academic Honor Roll. That figure represents more than half the NEC's competitors. On the year, 560 student-athletes were named to the Commissioner's Honor Roll, an all-time high for the Conference.